A C Cret

Advice For Creating A 3D Game?

So, I've had an idea for a 3D fantasy/adventure RPG, but I have never made a game, much less in 3D. I do have basic programming knowledge with C+, but would not mind learning something like Java if that would make my life easier. I also may do DigiPen this summer (a art and programming summer camp thing), but do not know for certain.

I dunno, just a call for help from anyone knowledgeable out there. Anything is appreciated! :-)

EDIT: Size might be important to mention... I was thinking somewhere between Shadow of the Collossus and Solsteim from the Skyrim Dragonborn DLC. Yeah, that's a pretty big idea, but I'm not experienced. For all I know, that could be either massively difficult or saddenly easy! ;-)

Edited by A C Cret
  • Upvote 1

Hey,

Ive started using Unity for my programming. It can do 2D and 3D, and it can be scripted in Javascript, C#, or Boo, so if you know any of those you can use it. It works very similarly to the Trials Evolution Editor. You have a 3D "world" and you move around with a camera. You put things in the world, and use co-ords to move them around.

You can get it here:

http://unity3d.com/get-unity/download/archive

The one I use is Version 4.6.1. You can choose whichever, but I would only be able to help you with that one. There are tutorials built in though.

If you want, I can send you something I made in Unity so you can see what sort of things it could create.

Hope this helped,

James

PS Size shouldnt be an issue here.

Edited by Jamma003
  • Upvote 1

Unity is what you're looking for.

If you don't have experience making games, an adventure RPG (especially one with a big open-world map) is going to be a huge, huge scope. I don't really recommend it, it's probably much more work than you think it is.

• Upvote 2

Unity is what you're looking for.