Sign in to follow this  
Trinica

All Data Deleted

Hi, I started playing a few weeks ago (I'm on the PC version). I created a game lobby with my friend today, we were in the middle of the final boss and for some reason we both got kicked. I was then unable to recreate the game. I restarted Castle Crashers, created a new lobby, and got to the character selection screen - only to find that all of my characters had been erased and all my data was gone.

I read The Forgotten Knight's forum post on save data loss and I will note that I did NOT move past the character selection screen, however I cannot get my characters or any save data to reappear. I have restarted the game, my PC, and Steam numerous times, but to no avail. How can I retrieve my characters? I'm getting pretty frustrated that I can no longer play the game. =/

Can anyone help me out?

Oh no! It might have been a sync issue with your local saves and Steam cloud saves. Not sure if you can still do this, but for future reference:

If you lose data due to being kicked out of game or off steam while in gameplay here is how to retain you save data. When you launch the game if you notice that at the character select screen or map that you are missing levels, character, or money shut down the game. Then close steam to force a resync between your local save and you steam cloud save. Do not enter into gameplay and finish a stage or you local data save will change to reflect current progress and when the data resyncs it will go with the most recent local save.

I attempted this solution, but I still could not retrieve the data. I have restarted Steam and my PC multiple times - no dice. Is it really safe to go to the map screen? I've been looking around the forums and it seems that I can't go past the character selection screen or my data will be permanently deleted. I have yet to move past the character selection screen, yet my data will still not reappear.