Lindsay

Backing Up Your Playlist -- How To Edit It Later (Please Read)!

Recommended Posts

Hi everybody!

 

I just wanted to take a minute to describe how to make sure you can edit your playlist later, once it's been uploaded. Hopefully this will help you get the best out of our level editor!

 

BACKING UP

WARNING: Once you upload your playlist online, it is COMPLETELY removed from the Level Editor and can NEVER be edited again -- not online and not in the editor!  There is a warning message and a help slide in-game that notes this.

 

Most creators want to make tweaks to their levels later, so we HIGHLY recommend you create a backup of any playlists PRIOR to upload. This will allow you to make changes to your backup, and upload it as a new playlist!

 

There are two ways to back your playlist up:

 

1) If you have an external memory unit (such as a USB thumb drive), copy the level file onto that, and copy it back to the Xbox when you want to make edits

 

To copy to your external memory unit:

From the Dashboard, select Settings > System > Storage > All Devices > Games and Apps > BattleBlock Theater

Select the Playlist File

Select Copy > Your External Memory Unit

 

To copy back: 

From the Dashboard, select Settings > System > Storage > Your Memory Unit > Games and Apps > BattleBlock Theater

Select the Playlist File

Select Copy > Your Primary Memory Device (such as your Hard Drive)

 

Please use caution when moving files back and forth, and ensure you do not accidentally overwrite existing files! (The Xbox system will prompt you if you're about to overwrite.)

 

2) Otherwise, save each level individually to a new playlist to make a backup in-game

 
Hopefully this helps! Happy level creating!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the heads-up. I had no idea the level editor worked like this and it would have been heartbreaking to lose a playlist forever just because you upload it. I will make sure to remember this.

 

Though, I must ask - why? I think most people would assume that free editing and ability to re-upload a playlist is possible. Were there any technical difficulties? Was it a demand from Microsoft?

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi everybody!

 

I just wanted to take a minute to describe how to make sure you can edit your playlist later, once it's been uploaded. Hopefully this will help you get the best out of our level editor!

 

BACKING UP

WARNING: Once you upload your playlist online, it is COMPLETELY removed from the Level Editor and can NEVER be edited again -- not online and not in the editor!  There is a warning message and a help slide in-game that notes this.

 

Most creators want to make tweaks to their levels later, so we HIGHLY recommend you create a backup of any playlists PRIOR to upload. This will allow you to make changes to your backup, and upload it as a new playlist!

 

There are two ways to back your playlist up:

 

1) If you have an external memory unit (such as a USB thumb drive), copy the level file onto that, and copy it back to the Xbox when you want to make edits

 

To copy to your external memory unit:

From the Dashboard, select Settings > System > Storage > All Devices > Games and Apps > BattleBlock Theater

Select the Playlist File

Select Copy > Your External Memory Unit

 

To copy back: 

From the Dashboard, select Settings > System > Storage > Your Memory Unit > Games and Apps > BattleBlock Theater

Select the Playlist File

Select Copy > Your Primary Memory Device (such as your Hard Drive)

 

Please use caution when moving files back and forth, and ensure you do not accidentally overwrite existing files! (The Xbox system will prompt you if you're about to overwrite.)

 

2) Otherwise, save each level individually to a new playlist to make a backup in-game

 
Hopefully this helps! Happy level creating!

Will there ever be an update that makes it possible to delete/edit the playlist once its uploaded?  Thank you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Hi everybody!

 

I just wanted to take a minute to describe how to make sure you can edit your playlist later, once it's been uploaded. Hopefully this will help you get the best out of our level editor!

 

BACKING UP

WARNING: Once you upload your playlist online, it is COMPLETELY removed from the Level Editor and can NEVER be edited again -- not online and not in the editor!  There is a warning message and a help slide in-game that notes this.

 

Most creators want to make tweaks to their levels later, so we HIGHLY recommend you create a backup of any playlists PRIOR to upload. This will allow you to make changes to your backup, and upload it as a new playlist!

 

There are two ways to back your playlist up:

 

1) If you have an external memory unit (such as a USB thumb drive), copy the level file onto that, and copy it back to the Xbox when you want to make edits

 

To copy to your external memory unit:

From the Dashboard, select Settings > System > Storage > All Devices > Games and Apps > BattleBlock Theater

Select the Playlist File

Select Copy > Your External Memory Unit

 

To copy back: 

From the Dashboard, select Settings > System > Storage > Your Memory Unit > Games and Apps > BattleBlock Theater

Select the Playlist File

Select Copy > Your Primary Memory Device (such as your Hard Drive)

 

Please use caution when moving files back and forth, and ensure you do not accidentally overwrite existing files! (The Xbox system will prompt you if you're about to overwrite.)

 

2) Otherwise, save each level individually to a new playlist to make a backup in-game

 
Hopefully this helps! Happy level creating!

Will there ever be an update that makes it possible to delete/edit the playlist once its uploaded?  Thank you.

i want that to happen because i accidentaly uploaded a playlist without any spawns luck-ally i ad it coppied so i was able to edit it and re upload but know i have 2 playlists  with the same maps :S

Edited by mikeylive98

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you for the heads up! I made a backup for my maps like you said. Even though I'm happy with the final product, it's always good to tinker with your old maps and see the inner workings still.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...